Reebok payouts for UFC Phoenix: Penn and Lauzon earn $20K

Last night, the UFC returned to sun-scorched Phoenix, Arizona.

They did so with UFC Fight Night 103, a card that featured plenty of action, controversy, and even a bit of UFC history. At the moment, the purses for this 12-fight Phoenix card have not been disclosed. We do, however, know how much the card’s 24 fighters took home through the UFC’s outfitting deal with sports apparel giant Reebok.

Under the UFC’s deal with Reebok, fighters are paid based on the amount of fights they’ve had in the UFC’s Octagon, and in the Zuffa-owned eras of Strikeforce (April 2011 and after) and WEC (January 2007 and after). Champions and title challengers, however, are paid $40,000 and $30,000 respectively, regardless of their experience in the aforementioned promotions. These are the two highest payouts possible under this UFC-Reebok partnership.

The biggest earners of the UFC’s latest trip to Phoenix were Joe Lauzon, who won a questionable decision over Marcin Held in the co-main event, and our own BJ Penn, who came up short against Yair Rodriguez in the main event. Making their 23rd and 24th UFC appearances respectively, Lauzon and Penn both took home $20,000 for wearing Reebok.

The next biggest earners of the card were welterweights Court McGee and Ben Saunders, who fought to a contentious decision on the main card. Both fighters pocketed $10,000 for wearing Reebok.

Here’s a full rundown of the Reebok payout for the UFC’s return to Phoenix (figures via

Yair Rodriguez: $5,000

def. B.J. Penn: $20,000

Joe Lauzon: $20,000

def. Marcin Held: $2,500

Ben Saunders: $10,000

def. Court McGee: $10,000

Sergio Pettis: $5,000

def. John Moraga: $5,000

Drakkar Klose: $2,500

def. Devin Powell: $2,500

Augusto Mendes: $2,500

def. Frankie Saenz: $5,000

Aleksei Oleinik: $2,500

def. Viktor Pesta: $2,500

Tony Martin: $5,000

def. Alex White: $2,500

Nina Ansaroff: $2,500

def. Jocelyn Jones-Lybarger: $2,500

Walt Harris: $5,000

def. Chase Sherman: $2,500

Joachim Christensen: $2,500

def. Bojan Mihajlovic: $2,500

Cyril Asker: $2,500

def. Dmitrii Smoliakov: $2,500